# NDTAA News

Volume - 01 May - June 2011

## Past NDT students inaugurate the NDT Alumni Association (NDTAA)

Past NDT students gathered at the BMICH Colombo on the 26<sup>th</sup> March 2011 formed the NDT Alumni Association. The chief guest was Hon. Rishard Bathiudeen, the Minister of Industries and Commerce who is also one of the past NDT students in Civil Engineering. The Director of the Institute of Technology University of Moratuwa, Dr. T.A.G. Gunasekara, and the President of the Institute of Incorporated Engineers Sri Lanka Eng. Upali Gunawardana were the special invitees.

A number of past NDT students who currently serve as lecturers at the University of Moratuwa were also present on the occasion. Some of the industry leaders as well as representatives from the current NDT Student's Union graced the occasion.

The Minister of Industries and Commerce Hon. Rishard Bathiudeen in his guest speech touched upon the subject of responsibilities of the NDT Diplomates in future development efforts of Sri Lanka. Dr T.A.G. Gunasekara in his speech traced the history of NDT starting from JTO times. Dr Gunasekara also briefed the audience on future plans of the Institute of Technology University of Moratuwa to relocate it outside the University premises at Diyagama. Eng. Upali Gunawardana in his speech explained potential career development avenues available for NDT holders by linking with the IIESL.



The formation of this Association was an initiative taken by the NDT 90/91 batch and a proposed set of objectives and a constitution were accepted by the gathering. The office bearers elected for the Management Committee of NDTAA are: Air Vice Marshal Kingsly Samaratunga (74/75 batch) as Hon. President; Mr. Rohan Ellawala (87/88 batch) as Hon. Deputy President; Mr. Shantha Yapa (81/82 batch) as Hon. General Secretary; Mr. Anton Peiris (67/68batch) as Treasurer and Mr. Saman Padukkavidana (90/91 batch) as the Chief Organiser.



#### Advisory Board of NDTAA

As proposed and seconded by the gathering the Advisory Board of the NDTAA are: the Minister of Industries and Commerce Hon. Rishard Bathiudeen; the Director of the Institute of Technology, University of Moratuwa, Dr. T.A.G. Gunasekara; Dr. (Mrs) Bhadrani Thoradeniya Senior Lecturer of ITUM; Dr. Sam Wijetunga Consultant & Advisor; Mr. U.C. Pathirana, Senior Engineer, National Water Supplies & Drainage Board; and Mrs. T.N. Siyambalapitiya, Deputy Director Planning, RDA.

#### **Trustee Board of NDTAA...**

The Trustee Board consists of three members. The elected members are: Eng. J.K. Lankathilaka (Chartered Engineer, Design Consortium Ltd.); Eng. Upali Gunawardana (President of IIESL) and Prof. W.A. Wimalaweera (Open University – Sri Lanka)

#### **Management Committee of NDT Alumni Association 2011**

No.	Position	Name	Mobile	Batch
1	President	AVM. Kingsley Samarathunga	077-7304769	74/75
2	Deputy President	Mr. Rohana Ellawala	071-4287626	87/88
3	Vice President	Mr. C. Kandage	071-4297755	86/87
4	Vice President	Mr. Bosco de Silva	072-7178281	89/90
5	Vice President	Mr. Jayantha Walpola	071-4007982	90/91
6	Vice President	Mr. Chaminda Jayanath	077-7535257	92/93
7	Vice President	Mr. Mahela Sampath	077-7274064	95/96
8	General Secretary	Mr. Shantha Yapa	077-3908262	81/82
9	Treasure	Mr. Anton Peries	077-7274080	67/69
10	Chief Organizer	Mr. Saman Padukkavidana	071-4763019	90/91
11	Administrative Secretary1	Mr. Waruna Dissanayaka	078-5670133	92/93
12	Administrative Secretary2	Mr. Aruna Eranda	071-6854760	02/.03
13	Assistant Secretary 1	Mr. W.H.C. Sanjeewa	071-8321540	90/91
14	Assistant Secretary 2	Mr. Koojana Weerasinghe	077-7333296	91/92
15	Assistant Secretary 3	Mr. Himantha Kumara	077-3763940	98/99
16	Assistant Secretary 4	Mr. H.M. Sumith Weerasooriya	071-4297708	90/91
17	Assistant Secretary 5	Mr. Sagara Kumarawardana	077-7612978	92/93
18	Assistant Treasure	Mr. janaka Edirisooriya	077-7558434	90/91
19	Organizer 1	Mr. Indika Widanapathirana	071-8693225	91/92
20	Organizer 2	Mr. Dharmasiri Pinnapola	071-4275328	90/91
21	Organizer 3	Mr. Bandula Wimalasooriya	071-4217858	88/89
22	Organizer 4	Mr. Upali Rathnayaka	071-4817185	78/79
23	Organizer 5	Mr. Anura Kumara Rathnayaka	077-3428596	99/00
24	Organizer 6	Mr. M.K. Weerasinghe	071-4801466	92/93
25	Organizer 7	Mr. M.D.I.S. Delgoda	071-4291247	89/90
26	Organizer 8	Mr. D.A. Mahendradewa	077-3124063	76/77
27	Organizer 9	Mr. Sanjaya Wijesekara	077-7590004	91/92
28	Organizer 10	Mr. I.P. Pushpakumara	077-3124038	00/01
29	Organizer 11	Mr. Thilak Wijesinghe	071-4291995	80/81
30	Organizer 12	Mr. U.R.K. Senarathna	071-6843336	73/74
31	Organizer 13	Mr. Sampath Hettiarachchi	077-3657549	88/89
32	Organizer 14	Mr. G.G.N. Gunawardhana	077-3129441	78/79
33	Organizer 15	Mr. Anura Walpola	071-5352304	86/87

#### **Donations from the Members**

Upon request by the Organising Committee to propose a way of funding for the newly formed Association participants volunteered to contribute with donations. While thanking all donors for their generous contributions, we are happy to publish the list of donations as follows:

#### **New Bank Account for the NDTAA**

A Bank Account has also been opened in the name of the Association. Well-wishers and donors can directly deposit their contributions to this account using any Peoples' Bank outlet. The Account details are as follows:

Account Name: - NDT Alumni Association

Account Number: - 200100180002272
Account Type: - Current Account
Name of the Bank: - Peoples Bank

Branch: - Majestic City, Bambalapitiya.

#### **Donors list...**

	Name of the Donor	Amount in Rs.
1	Mr. Jayantha Amarawardane – Managing Director Lanka Hume Pipes Ltd	100,000.00
2	Hon. Rishard Badiurdeen - Minister of Industry & Commerce	50,000.00
3	Mr. Anton Peiris – CEO, Electro Serve Pvt Ltd	25,000.00
4	Mr. Himantha Kumara (Collection of 98/99 Batch)	25,000.00
5	Mr. Ananda Gunawardana (Collection of Siyane Diplomats Association)	25,000.00
6	Mr. M.K. Weerasinghe, Director Engineering – Global Tech Group	20,000.00
7	Mr. Rohana Ellawala – DGM, Sri Lanka Telecom	10,000.00
8	Dr. Mrs. Badhdrani Thoradeniya – Senior Lecturer Institute of Technology, University of Moratuwa	10,000.00
9	Air Vice Marshal. Kingsly Samaratunga – General Manager , Ambanco Constructions (Pvt) Ltd	5,000.00
10	Mr. Shantha Senarath – Chairman/MD Techno Plus Int'l (Pvt) Ltd	5,000.00
11	Mrs. D.N. Siyambalapitiya Deputy Director Planning - RDA	5,000.00
12	Mr. Bosco de Silva, Chairman – Modernteck (Pvt) Ltd	5,000.00
13	Mr. Upali Rathnayake, Engineer – National Water Board	5,000.00
14	Mr. Thilak Wijesinghe, Engineer- Sri Lanka Telecom	5,000.00
15	Mr. Ranjith Siriwardana, Factory Manager – Asia Bike Industrial (Pvt) Ltd.	5,000.00
	Total	300,000.00

### Editorial Unit Public Relations Sub Committee of the NDT Alumni Association

Please send your comments to Bosco de Silva (Vice President) – 072-7178281